Jefferson County election results

Following are the election results from Linda Buttron, Jefferson County Election Officer.

The two main questions and the few races are reported along with the winners in several write-in contests.


Jefferson County North, USD 339

Bond issue passed with 77% support:

Yes —333

No —98


Meriden-Ozawkie area library district question passed with 85% support:




Races —


USD 338, Valley Falls, Pos. 6:

Sharon Sweeney—98

John D. Shipley Jr.—86


USD 340, Jefferson West, Pos. 4:

Donald H. Knowles—194

Dave Jolly—158


USD 343, Perry-Lecompton, Pos. 5:

Tiffany Ball—128

Ryan Rush—67


McLouth city:

(2 council seats)

Scott Weissenbach—98

James W. Moore—75

Karl Abegg—64


Nortonville city:

(2 council seats)

Troy Frost—82

Steve Belveal—78

Alan Barnes—75


Valley Falls city:


Charles L. Stutesman—93

Jose L. Chavez—39

(2 council seats)

Lucille L. Thomas—110

Andrew R. Dinger—67

Patrick Reyle—38


Write-in tallies—


Meriden city—


Andy Surritt—17


Cayla Lewis—9

James Wells—3


Oskaloosa city—


Kathy Griffin—21

Amy Robbins—23


Ozawkie city—

A recount in the Ozawkie mayor’s race was to be held Wednesday after the election was canvassed by the county commissioners. The race is between incumbent Steve Stanton and write-in candidate Mark Larson.


Gordon Smith—29

Don Schaeffer—30


USD 342, Pos. 5:

James Copeland—27


USD 341, Pos. 6:

Shane Curry—24


Short URL: http://www.jeffcountynews.com/?p=14283

Posted by on Apr 15 2013. Filed under County News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Recently Commented