Newly formed Northeast Kansas League officials meet

by Dennis Sharkey

The four class 2A schools in Jefferson County along with four other schools have formed a new league that will begin play in the 2013-2014 academic year.

Jefferson County North Principal and Athletic Director Gary Bedigrew said on Monday that the new league had its first official meeting last Wednesday in Oskaloosa. At the meeting a new name was established and officers were elected.

Bedigrew said the name of the new league will be The Northeast Kansas League. JCN, Valley Falls, McLouth and Oskaloosa will join Pleasant Ridge, Jackson Heights, Maur Hill/Mt. Academy and Immaculata to form the new eight team league.

Bedigrew was elected vice president of the league. Pleasant Ridge Principal Andy Metsker will serve as league president. Maur Hill/Mt. Academy Assistant Principal and Athletic Director Richard Hunninghake was elected treasurer. Immaculata Principal Helen Schwinn will serve as secretary.

The group did not decide on a set of by-laws but Bedigrew said another meeting will be called soon.

“We were just tinkering,” Bedigrew said. “But we’ve got a year.”

Some decisions will have to be made in the next few months because of scheduling. Typically schools begin working on schedules for the next season while the current season is in play.

Oskaloosa Superintendent Jon Pfau on Monday said there’s a lot of excitement stirring with the new league. One thing that excites the new members the most is the size of the league. The Delaware Valley League had increased to 14 teams two years ago and caused some scheduling problems. Pfau said the new league will involve a lot less travel and the league can now schedule home and home series during basketball season.

For the upcoming school year the Delaware Valley League will remain as is with the current 14 members. The other members of the league include ACCHS-Effingham, Riverside, Horton, Doniphan West, Troy and Kansas City Christian.

Short URL: http://www.jeffcountynews.com/?p=13381

Posted by on Jun 27 2012. Filed under County News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Recently Commented