Public input sought for notable Kansans

As part of the state’s commemoration of the Kansas sesquicentennial, Governor Sam Brownback has appointed a blue ribbon panel for Kansas history.

This panel of historians and others interested in history, is inviting the public to recommend notable Kansans and historic Kansas events. The panel will then review the suggestions and narrow the list to 25 people and 10 events. The results will be announced later this year. Nominations can be made on kansapedia.org. The deadline for suggestions is May 15.

“This is a great opportunity to acknowledge the people and events that have made a difference in Kansas history,” said Brownback. “We want to excite Kansans about their heritage and inspire our young people to embrace the importance and relevance of our state’s history and its people.”

The blue ribbon panel is comprised of Don Chubb, Topeka; Dr. Virgil Dean, Kansas Historical Society; Gayle Garrelts, Hays; Dr. James Hoy, Emporia State University; Bob Keckeisen, Kansas Historical Society; Dr. Bruce Mactavish, Washburn University; Dr. Leo Oliva, Woodston; Mary Regan, Finney County Historical Society; J. Schafer, Kansas Public Radio; Dr. James Shortridge, University of Kansas; and Dr. Raymond Wilson, Fort Hays State University.

Short URL: http://www.jeffcountynews.com/?p=7801

Posted by on May 12 2011. Filed under County News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Recently Commented