Filing deadline looms for city, school positions

by Clarke Davis

People interested in filing for public office to serve on a local city council or school board have until noon Tuesday, Jan. 25, to make up their mind.

There are four school board positions up for election—one in each of the three member districts and one at large. City council offices vary from three seats in some cities to two in others and some mayors are up for election. There are six school districts and eight incorporated cities in Jefferson County.

To file for school board, one must do so at the County Clerk’s office at the courthouse in Oskaloosa. To file for city office, one can file at the city office or at the clerk’s office. The filing fee is $5.

Candidates can file by petition to avoid a filing fee. A candidate for city office must collect signatures equal to at least 10 percent of the number of voters who voted in the last election. A school board candidate needs 10 percent of the registered voters in their member-district.

Primary elections, where needed, will be held March 1. The general election is April 5.

Primary elections are required for a school board position when four or more file for the same seat. It varies in cities. Where three seats are up for election, it takes 10 or more to trigger a primary or seven or more when only two seats are up for election.

A primary for the office of mayor is needed when four or more file for that office.

Elected officials are sworn into office in May for cities and July 1 for school boards.

Terms for the following officials will soon expire:


Meriden: Mayor Andy Surritt and two council seats. One is held by Dana Boyer and the other is vacant. The city passed a charter ordinance this fall reducing the number of council seats from seven to five. The mayor in this city stands for election every two years while the council terms are for four years.

Perry: Mayor Michael Lang and two council members, Penny Walker and J.R. Porter, are up for election.

Valley Falls: Three council positions now held by Paul Burns, Mark Boyce, and Tony Trower.

Nortonville: Three council seats occupied by Steve Belveal, Matt Smith, and Ray Brown.

Winchester: The positions up for election are held by Mayor Marvin Ledbetter and council members Mary Jo Swoyer and Brandon Abel.

McLouth: Mayor Keith Meador and two council members, Karl Abegg and Ron Forshee.

Oskaloosa: The positions up for election are held by Mayor Mike Boyd and council woman Kelly Hattemer. A second council seat up for election is currently vacant.

Ozawkie: No one could be reached at city hall, but it’s believed there are three council seats up for election.


Board positions 1, 2, and 3 and the at large position, No. 7, are up for election this spring. School board members holding those positions are as follows:

USD 338 (Valley Falls) — Pos. 1, Jody Lockhart, 2, Paul Brown, 3, Daryl Sales (filling an unexpired term), and 4, Bobbie Kearney.

USD 339 (Jefferson County North) —Pos. 1, Ronald Langston, 2, Tony Domann, 3, Karen Edmonds, and 7, Katherine Wolfe.

USD 340 (Jefferson West) —Pos. 1, Blaine Moore, 2, Dreana McClurg, 3, Dr. Jeff Van Petten, and 7, Shannon McMahon.

USD 341 (Oskaloosa) — Pos. 1, Denise Selbee-Koch, 2, Tammy Fowler, 3, Daryl Chess, and 7, Gary Willits.

USD 342 (McLouth) — Pos. 1, Mike Tullis, 2, Andy Sullivan, 3, Dean Wolfe, and 7, Ed Courtney.

USD 343 (Perry-Lecompton) — Pos. 1, Matt Erickson, 2, Jamie Harwood, 3, Jenny Morgison, and 7, Travis Daniels.

Short URL: http://www.jeffcountynews.com/?p=3927

Posted by on Jan 8 2011. Filed under County News, Government. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Recently Commented